Home

Destination Orient

Back
2002

Journey to Cappadocia / Turkey

Istanbul (I)

(Turkey) 
17 - 25 August
The sightseeing during just one week stay in Istanbul is concentrated on the near and far ambience of Sultanahmet  district with visiting of Blue Mosque, Beyazit Mosque  and Arasta Bazaar.  Most recreative and best refreshing is a day trip over Bosporus  to Anadolu Kavagi. Istanbul - I (Turkey)

Kayseri

(Cappadocia) 
26 - 30 August
The city was established in the 2nd century BC under the name of Eusebia  and renamed as Caesarea  after taking from Romans. Today's location of it is some kilometres to the north since the relocation in the 4th century. Since the 3rd century Kayseri represented over a long time a centre of Christianity and arose missionary till Armenia. -- Today 500,000 citizens live in Kayseri which is to date one of the most important Metropolis in upcountry. Kayseri (Cappadocia)

Göreme

(Cappadocia) 
30 August - 4 September
Göreme village is located in a 300 km²  area of rock formations which originate from eruptions of the volcanoes Erciyes Dagi  and Hasan Dagi.  In the process of time the pyroclastic layers were sculptured by weathering and wind erosion into a bizarre landscape with dales, canyons, rock columns and earth pyramids. From the 7th until the 9th century Christians from the neighbourhood Kayseri sought here a hiding place caused by the violation of Arabs addressed to them. Göreme (Cappadocia)

Istanbul (II)

(Turkey) 
5 - 7 September
One more interesting sightseeing in Istanbul to do is a boat tour from Eminiönü  pier to the Princes Islands  in the Sea of Marmara.  The destination of journey is Heybeliada.  This island also known as Copper Island  is 19 kilometres far from Istanbul. Before on both hills of the island were monasteries. Nowadays the Turkish Marine uses the buildings for its schools. Istanbul - II (Turkey)

Last modified 07.09.2002 MZ BackDeutsche VersionHomeOrient Search Top

zur Startseite

Unterwegs im Orient

zurück
2002

Reise nach Kappadokien / Türkei

Istanbul (I)

(Türkei) 
17. - 25. August
Die Besichtigungen während des nur einwöchigen Aufenthalts in Istanbul konzentrieren sich auf die nähere und weitere Umgebung des Stadtteils Sultanahmet  mit den Schwerpunkten Blaue Moschee, Beyazit Moschee und Arasta Basar.  Als erholsam und zudem äußerst erfrischend erweist sich erneut ein Tagesausflug über den Bosporus  nach Anadolu Kavagi. Nach Istanbul (I)

Kayseri

(Kappadokien) 
26. - 30. August
Die Stadt wurde im 2. Jh. v.Chr. unter dem Namen Eusebeia  gegründet, nach der Einnahme durch die Römer in Caesaria  umbenannt und im 4. Jh. einige Kilometer weiter nördlich an die jetzige Stelle verlegt. Kayseri bildete seit dem 3. Jh. über lange Zeit ein Zentrum des Christentums, das Missionare bis nach Armenien entsandte. -- Heute leben etwa 500.000 Einwohner in der Stadt, die wie früher zu den bedeutendsten Metropolen im Landesinneren gehört. Nach Kayseri (Kappadokien)

Göreme

(Kappadokien) 
30. August - 4. September
Das Dorf Göreme liegt in einem 300 km²  großen Gebiet aus Gesteinsformationen, deren Material aus Eruptionen der Vulkane Erciyes Dagi  und Hasan Dagi  stammt. Im Laufe der Zeit formte die Verwitterung aus dem weichen Tuff eine bizarre Landschaft aus Tälern, Schluchten, Felskegeln und Erdpyramiden. Hier suchten von Arabern bedrohte Christen aus dem benachbarten Kayseri in der Zeit vom 7. bis in das 9. Jh. Zuflucht. Nach Göreme (Kappadokien)

Istanbul (II)

(Türkei) 
5. - 7. September
Im Mittelpunkt der noch verbleibenden Zeit in Istanbul steht eine Bootsfahrt vom Anleger Eminönü  zu den Prinzeninseln  im Marmarameer.  Ziel der Reise ist die 19 km entfernte Insel Heybeliada, die auch Kupferinsel  heißt. Auf den beiden Hügeln der Insel standen früher Klöster; die Gebäude werden heute von der türkischen Marine als Schule genutzt. Nach Istanbul (II)

Letzte Änderung am 07.09.2002 MZ zurückEnglish versionzur StartseiteOrient Search zum Seitenbeginn