Home

Destination Orient

Back
2001

2nd journey to Iran

 

Approach

(Istanbul -- Tabriz) 
27 - 31 August
The route of approaching Iran resembles the one chosen in the year 2000. The way from Istanbul to Erzurum -- measuring 1716 kilometres -- is being covered by train though. The Dogu Ekspresi  takes some 35 hours for this distance. To relax a bit this train ride is followed by a one-day-stay in Erzurum, filled with inspections of that city. From there to Tabriz, Iran, the familiar route will be chosen. Approach (Istanbul - Tabriz)

Ahar

(East Azarbaijan) 
2 September
Ahar is located approximately 170 kilometres northeast of Tabriz, which is an equivalent of three hours car ride. The trip further on leads through a rugged country side up to a height of about 2000 meters above sea level. The foot walk to a castle dating at pre-Christian ages has to be cancelled half-way due to shoes not-suited for that purpose. To Ahar (East Azarbaijan)

Kerman

3 - 12 September
Kerman, the capital of the southeastern province of Iran having the same name, is situated in an arid desert-like vicinity. Thus this area is only settled by few people. This city -- forming an oasis -- is located at the edge of the desert of Lut. Its elevation amounts to approximately 1715 meters and has about 300,000 inhabitants. Due to its isolated placement the picture of the city is being shaped by traditional architecture and life-style as well. To Kerman

Yazd

12 - 15 September
The city of Yazd -- forming an oasis amidst a desert-like area -- is situated in central Iran. It's the capital of the province bearing the same name. This city is located about half distance between the cities of Isfahan and Kerman at an altitude of 1230 meters, counting some 350,000 inhabitants. The extremely arid climate is being reflected by the city's architecture. Worth mentioning are the numerous wind towers. To Yazd

Isfahan

15 - 23 September
The one-week stay in Isfahan follows to the most part the traces of the stay in the year 2000. Main points of the catalogue of photos are the Tea House Azadegan , views at the Lotfollah Mosque  from outside, the Friday Mosque, the Emam Square  and -- even more detailed -- the Ali Ghapoo Palace. To Isfahan

Journey back

(Tehran -- Istanbul) 
24 - 29 September
For many years the track from Tehran to Istanbul had been interrupted -- due to the civil war in eastern Anatolia. Only by spring 2001 travelling became possible once again on that route. The Trans Asya Ekspresi  takes about 72 hours to cover that distance. The Iranian as well as the Turkish train provide sleeping-cars. A dining-car supplies food for the travellers. Journey back (Tehran - Istanbul)

Last modified 29.09.2001 MZ BackDeutsche VersionHomeOrient Search Top

zur Startseite

Unterwegs im Orient

zurück
2001

2. Reise in den Iran

 

Anreise

(Istanbul -- Tabriz) 
27. - 31. August
Die Route der Anreise ähnelt dem im Jahr 2000 eingeschlagenen Weg. Allerdings wird die Strecke von Istanbul nach Erzurum von 1716 km mit dem Zug Dogu Ekspresi  zurückgelegt, der dafür rund 35 h benötigt. In Erzurum schließt sich zur Erholung ein eintägiger Aufenthalt mit Besichtigungen an; danach geht es auf vertrauten Wegen nach Tabriz im Iran. Anreise (Istanbul - Tabriz)

Ahar

(Provinz Ost-Azarbaijan) 
2. September
Ahar liegt etwa 170 km bzw. drei Autostunden NE von Tabriz. Die einstündige Weiterfahrt durch unwegsames Gelände führt in eine einsame Bergwelt auf etwa 2000 m Höhe. Die Wanderung zu einer Burg aus vorchristlicher Zeit wird allerdings auf halbem Wege wegen ungeeigneten Schuhwerks vorzeitig abgebrochen. Nach Ahar (Provinz Ost-Azarbaijan)

Kerman

3. - 12. September
Kerman ist die Hauptstadt der gleichnamigen Provinz im SE des Irans, die wegen weitläufiger Wüsten- und Steppengebiete nur dünn besiedelt ist. Die Oasenstadt befindet sich am Rande der Wüste Lut in 1716 m Höhe und zählt etwa 300.000 Einwohner. Aufgrund der abgeschiedenen Lage prägen traditionelle Architektur und Lebensformen das Bild der Stadt. Nach Kerman

Yazd

12. - 15. September
Die Oasenstadt Yazd liegt im Zentraliran und ist die Hauptstadt der gleichnamigen Provinz, die fast nur aus Wüste besteht. Die Stadt liegt auf halber Strecke zwischen Isfahan und Kerman in 1230 m Höhe und hat etwa 350.000 Einwohner. Die Architektur spiegelt das extrem trockene Klima mit heißen Sommern wider; besonders auffallend sind die zahlreichen Windtürme. Nach Yazd

Isfahan

15. - 23. September
Der einwöchige Aufenthalt in Isfahan folgt zum guten Teil den Spuren aus dem Jahr 2000. Schwerpunkte des Bilderkatalogs sind das Teehaus Azadegan, Außenansichten der Lotfollah Moschee, die Freitagsmoschee, der Emam Platz  und -- besonders ausführlich -- der Ali Ghapoo Palast (Hohe Pforte). Nach Isfahan

Rückreise

(Tehran -- Istanbul) 
24. - 29. September
Über viele Jahre war die Strecke von Tehran nach Istanbul wegen des Bürgerkriegs in Ostanatolien unterbrochen; erst im dem Frühjahr 2001 wurde der Betrieb wieder aufgenommen. Der Trans Asya Ekspresi  benötigt für die gesamte Strecke etwa 72 h Fahrzeit. Der iranische wie auch der türkische Zug haben Liegewagen; ein Speisewagen sorgt für die Verpflegung. Rückreise (Tehran - Istanbul)

Letzte Änderung am 29.09.2001 MZ zurückEnglish versionzur StartseiteOrient Search zum Seitenbeginn