Home

Istanbul (Turkey)

August/September 2000

Back
Large picture  
22 August 
View from the roof terrace of Hotel Sarniç  towards the Blue Mosque  in the north ...
Large picture  
22 August 
... and -- over quite common style residential houses -- towards the Sea of Marmara  in the south.
 

 

Sultanahmet

(Istanbul) 
23 - 25 August
First main point of the sightseeing is the European quarter Sultanahmet  with the objects of interest Yerebatan Cistern, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. -- Due to the devastating earthquake on 17 August 1999 the city was almost free from visitors; the more busy the dealers were trying to bring their commodity to sale ... Sultanahmet (Istanbul)
 

 
Large picture  
24 August 
Mini buses at the port of Kadiköy ...
Large picture  
24 August 
... and everyday life ...
Large picture  
24 August 
... on the roads of the Asian quarter.
Large picture  
24 August 
The railway station Haydarpasha  in the sunset.
 

 

From Üsküdar
to Eminönü

(Istanbul) 
26 August
Violent summer thunderstorms are quite common in Istanbul. During the trip back by ferry-boat from the Asian quarter Üsküdar, a violent hail shower took place. Therefore the boat had to stop temporarily because of poor visibility. Back in the port of Eminönü  several centimetres of hail covered the ground. The roads down-leading from Sultanahmet  had changed into broad brooks. Nevertheless a little later everyday life on the Bosporus  bank went on ... From Üsküdar to Eminönü (Istanbul)

Bosporus Trip

(Istanbul) 
28 August
The Bosporus  connects the Black Sea  with the Sea of Marmara  and is one of most busy water ways in the world. Apart from that it forms the border between Europe and Asia. At its southern end Istanbul spreads on both sides. The route leads from the port of Eminönü  in a zigzag course between the European and Asian bank to Anadolu Kavagi and lasts about 90 minutes. Bosporus Trip (Istanbul)

Taksim and
Dolmabahçe
Palace

(Istanbul) 
29 August
The Dolmabahçe Palace  was built in the time of 1843-1856 under Sultan Abdülmecit I  in the style of the Turkish Renaissance and replaced the Topkapi Palace  as residence of the sultans. The enormous palace facility occupies an area close to 250,000 m², extends over a length of approximately 600 m on the European bank of the Bosporus  containing 250 rooms and 46 halls together with 28 baths and 4 hamams, which are extremely splendid and equipped wastefully with marble, alabaster and gold. The palace is open to visitors as a public museum since 1952. Taksim and Dolmabahçe Palace (Istanbul)

Topkapi Palace

(Istanbul) 
31 August
The Topkapi Palace (New Imperial Palace)  dates from the time after 1465 and was the residence of the Ottoman sultans in the 19th century. Today the vast palace facility is a museum accommodating extensive valuable collections of porcelain, handwritings, portraits, garbs, crown jewels and weapons from the Ottoman Empire. Further precious objects are the Holy Mantle  and other sacred relics of prophet Mohamed  exhibited in separate chambers. Topkapi Palace (Istanbul)

Princes Islands

(Istanbul) 
1 September
The Princes Islands, respectively Adalar Islands, locate approximately 20 km southeast of Istanbul in the Sea of Marmara. They can be reached comfortably from Eminönü  by ferry-boat within a 90 min travel. The islands, in former times a feared banishing place, nowadays are a popular recreation area. Motor traffic is not permitted, so that locomotion is possible only by foot or with a horse-drawn carriage. Princes Islands (Istanbul)
 

 
Large picture  
04 September 
Visit at the Confectioner Çigdem ...
Large picture  
04 September 
... and his clay-made sultan.
Large picture  
06 September 
Picture from the Mosaic Museum  in Sultanahmet.
Large picture  
07 September 
View of Sultanahmet  from Haydarpasha.
 

 

Mosque
of Princes /
Suleyman
Mosque

(Istanbul) 
8 September
Sultan Suleyman the Magnificent  established the Mosque of Princes (Sehzade Mehmed Mosque)  in memory of his favourite son Mehmed  in the year 1544. The mosque built by the architect Mimar Sinan  impresses with its clear structure without frills and its simple elegance. 
The Suleyman Mosque  located nearby was built under the reign of Sultan Suleyman the Magnificent  during 1550-1557. The mosque is the main work of the architect Mimar Sinan  (later defined by himself as a journeyman's piece) and is an example of Ottoman style of the Islamic art. The complex comprises an outer and an inner courtyard, slim minarets and ten balconies. A 53 meter high dome vaulting the prayer area is the largest of more than 500 subsidiary domes. The mosque is praised by poets as "Gloss and Joy of Istanbul".
Mosque of Princes (Istanbul)
Suleyman Mosque (Istanbul)
 

 
Large picture  
09 September 
Arrival on the Atatürk Airport  at 3:56 o'clock.
Large picture  
09 September 
Departure is substantially delayed, but Nescafé eases ...
Large picture  
09 September 
... similarly as an early Wopper jr.  at 7:17 o'clock.
Large picture  
09 September 
Return flight with a B737-800 from Istanbul to Bremen.

Last modified 09.09.2000 MZ BackDeutsche VersionHomeOrient Search Top

zur Startseite

Istanbul (Türkei)

August/September 2000

zurück
Großbild  
22. August 
Blick von der Dachterrasse des Hotel Sarniç  auf die Blaue Moschee  im Norden ...
Großbild  
22. August 
... und über nicht untypische Wohnhäuser auf das Marmarameer  im Süden.
 

 

Sultanahmet

(Istanbul) 
23. - 25. August
Erster Schwerpunkt der Besichtigungen ist der europäische Stadtteil Sultanahmet  mit den Sehenswürdigkeiten Yerebatan Zisterne, Hagia Sophia, Blaue Moschee  und Großer Basar. -- Wegen des verheerenden Erdbebens am 17. August 1999 war die Stadt weitgehend frei von Besuchern; umso emsiger waren die Händler bemüht, ihre Ware an den Mann zu bringen ... Sultanahmet (Istanbul)
 

 
Großbild  
24. August 
Minibusse am Fähranleger von Kadiköy ...
Großbild  
24. August 
... und das Alltagsleben ...
Großbild  
24. August 
... in den Straßen des asiatischen Stadtteils.
Großbild  
24. August 
Der Bahnhof Haydarpasha  im Abendlicht.
 

 

Von Üsküdar
nach Eminönü

(Istanbul) 
26. August
Heftige Sommergewitter sind in Istanbul nicht selten. Bei der Rückfahrt mit der Fähre aus dem asiatischen Stadtteil Üsküdar  ging ein derart heftiger Hagelschauer nieder, daß die Fähre wegen schlechter Sicht zeitweilig anhalten mußte. Zurück am Anleger von Eminönü  lagen Hagelkörner cm-hoch und die von Sultanahmet  hinunterführenden Straßen waren in breite Bäche verwandelt. Dennoch nahm der Alltag am Bosporusufer wenig später wieder seinen gewohnten Lauf ... Von Üsküdar nach Eminönü (Istanbul)

Bosporusfahrt

(Istanbul) 
28. August
Der Bosporus  ist eine stark befahrene Wasserstraße, die das Schwarze Meer  mit dem Marmarameer  verbindet. Er bildet außerdem die Grenze zwischen Europa und Asien; an seinem südlichen Ende breitet sich beiderseits Istanbul aus. Die -- nur knapp dokumentierte -- Fahrt führt vom Anleger in Eminönü  im Zickzackkurs zwischen europäischem und asiatischem Ufer nach Anadolu Kavagi und benötigt etwa 90 Minuten. Bosporusfahrt (Istanbul)

Taksim und
Dolmabahçe
Palast

(Istanbul) 
29. August
Der Dolmabahçe Palast  wurde in der Zeit von 1843-1856 unter Sultan Abdülmecit I  im Stil der türkischen Renaissance erbaut und löste 1856 den Topkapi Palast  als Residenz der Sultane ab. Die gewaltige Anlage bedeckt eine Fläche von ca. 250.000 m², erstreckt sich über eine Länge von etwa 600 m am Ufer des Bosporus  und umfaßt 250 Zimmer und 46 Säle nebst 28 Bädern und 4 Hamams, die äußerst prunkvoll und verschwenderisch mit Marmor, Alabaster und Gold ausgestattet sind. Seit 1952 dient der Palast Besuchern als öffentliches Museum. Taksim und Dolmabahçe Palast (Istanbul)

Topkapi Palast

(Istanbul) 
31. August
Der Topkapi Palast  stammt aus der Zeit nach 1465 und war bis in das 19. Jahrhundert Residenz der osmanischen Sultane. Heute dient die weitläufige Palastanlage als Museum, das umfangreiche kostbare Sammlungen von Porzellan, Handschriften, Porträts, Gewändern, Kronjuwelen und Waffen aus dem osmanischen Reich beherbergt. Als weitere Besonderheit werden wertvolle Reliquien des Propheten Mohammed in separaten Räumen ausgestellt. Topkapi Palast (Istanbul)

Adalar Inseln

(Istanbul) 
1. September
Von Eminönü  aus lassen sich die ca. 20 km südöstlich von Istanbul im Marmarameer  gelegen Adalar Inseln  bzw. Prinzeninseln  nach etwa 90-minütiger Fahrt mit der Fähre bequem erreichen. Die Inseln, die früher ein gefürchteter Verbannungsort waren, sind heute ein beliebtes Erholungsgebiet. Autoverkehr ist nicht erlaubt, so daß Fortbewegung nur zu Fuß bzw. mit der Pferdekutsche möglich ist. Adalar Inseln (Istanbul)
 

 
Großbild  
04. September 
Besuch beim Konditor Çigdem ...
Großbild  
04. September 
... und seinem tönernen Sultan.
Großbild  
06. September 
Bild aus dem Mosaikenmuseum  in Sultanahmet.
Großbild  
07. September 
Blick von Haydarpasha  auf Sultanahmet.
 

 

Prinzen
Moschee /
Süleyman
Moschee

(Istanbul) 
8. September
Sultan Süleyman der Prächtige  ließ die Prinzen Moschee (Sehzade Mehmed Moschee)  im Jahr 1544 zum Gedächtnis an seinen Lieblingssohn Mehmed  errichten. Die Moschee besticht durch ihren klaren, schnörkellosen Aufbau und ihre schlichte Eleganz. 
Die benachbarte Süleyman Moschee  wurde 1550-1557 ebenfalls unter Sultan Süleyman dem Prächtigen  erbaut, ist das Hauptwerk des Hofarchitekten Mimar Sinan  (von ihm später als sein Gesellenstück bezeichnet) und beispielhaft für den osmanischen Stil der islamischen Kunst. Die Anlage umfaßt u.a. einen Außen- und Vorhof sowie vier schlanke Minarette und zehn Balkone. Der Gebetsraum ist von einer 53 m hohen Kuppel überwölbt, der größten von über 500 Kuppeln insgesamt. Von Dichtern wird die Moschee als "Glanz und Freude Istanbuls" gepriesen.
Prinzen Moschee (Istanbul)
Süleyman Moschee (Istanbul)
 

 
Großbild  
09. September 
Ankunft auf dem Atatürk Flughafen  um 3:56 Uhr.
Großbild  
09. September 
Der Abflug verspätet sich erheblich, aber Nescafé entspannt ...
Großbild  
09. September 
... ähnlich wie ein früher Wopper jr. um 7:17 Uhr.
Großbild  
09. September 
Rückflug mit einer B737-800 von Istanbul nach Bremen.

Letzte Änderung am 09.09.2000 MZ zurückEnglish versionzur StartseiteOrient Search zum Seitenbeginn