Home

Destination Orient

Back
2000

Journey to Iran and Turkey

Approach

(Istanbul --Isfahan) 
29 July - 7 August
Travelling in Turkey is accomplished by train, bus and taxi and leads from Istanbul via Ankara, Kayseri, Sivas, Erzurum, Agri and Dogubayazit to the small Turkish border village of Gürbulak. On the Iranian side of the border in Bazargan an experienced taxi driver manages the transfer to Tabriz, the capital of East Azarbaijan. The breathtaking ride takes about four hours. After three days the trip continues with a comfortable train via Tehran to Isfahan. Approach (Istanbul - Isfahan)

Isfahan

(Iran) 
7 - 21 August
The city of Isfahan is located in a wide valley of the Zayanderud  river and forms an oasis. Its population amounts to 2 million and the altitude of the city is an approximate 1430 m above sea level. The UNESCO proclaimed it to the World Heritage List  for its exceptional buildings. To Isfahan

Istanbul

(Turkey) 
22 August - 9 September
Istanbul locates at the Bosporus  which is the link between Europe and Asia. The city has a population of about 12 million. It was founded 660 BC by the Greeks and was formerly named Byzantium. After the re-foundation under Emperor Constantine  in 330 AD it became Constantinople  and the capital of the East Roman Empire. Later it became the capital of the Byzantine Empire and from 1453 to 1922 the capital of the Ottoman Empire. To Istanbul

Last modified 09.09.2000 MZ BackDeutsche VersionHomeOrient Search Top

zur Startseite

Unterwegs im Orient

zurück
2000

Reise in den Iran und die Türkei

 

Anreise

(Istanbul -- Isfahan) 
29. Juli - 7. August
Die Anreise führt in der Türkei mit Eisenbahn, Autobus und Taxi von Istanbul über Ankara, Kayseri, Sivas, Erzurum, Agri und Dogubayazit zur Grenzstation Gürbulak. Auf iranischer Seite ist im Grenzort Bazargan nur noch ein Taxi anzumieten und in etwa vier Stunden ist die Provinzhauptstadt Tabriz erreicht. Nach einer Ruhepause von drei Tagen geht es bequem mit der Eisenbahn über Tehran nach Isfahan. Anreise (Istanbul - Isfahan)

Isfahan

(Iran) 
7. - 21. August
Isfahan ist die Hauptstadt der gleichnamigen Provinz und bildet das geographische Zentrum des Irans. Die Oasenstadt liegt im weiten Tal des Flusses Zayanderud  in 1430 m Höhe und hat etwa 2 Millionen Einwohner. Sie wurde wegen ihrer außergewöhnlichen Bauwerke von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe  erklärt. Nach Isfahan

Istanbul

(Türkei) 
22. August - 9. September
Istanbul liegt am Bosporus  auf der Schnittstelle von Europa und Asien und hat etwa 12 Millionen Einwohner. Die Stadt wurde 660 v.Chr. von den Griechen als Byzanz  gegründet. Sie war nach Neugründung unter Kaiser Konstantin  im Jahr 330 mit dem Namen Konstantinopel  zunächst die Hauptstadt des Römischen Reichs, später des Byzantinischen Reichs und von 1453-1922 des Osmanischen Reichs. Nach Istanbul

Letzte Änderung am 09.09.2000 MZ zurückEnglish versionzur StartseiteOrient Search zum Seitenbeginn